Current & Past Fellows

Current and Past Fellows

A legacy of leadership

The Groner Fellowship gives top graduate students invaluable experience through direct participation in real, relevant projects and initiatives. The hands-on experience received here has been the foundation of many distinguished careers. Our program has launched the careers of numerous health care executives, including the CEOs of some of the nation’s most respected health care systems.

Current Fellows

Meet and hear from our current Groner fellows on what the experience means to them and what you can expect from participating in the program.

Kevin Redd

Kevin ReddKevin Redd is a native Memphian who is invested in his home community and who has dedicated his life to improving the lives of other people. Kevin has been with Baptist for over seven years and, prior to becoming a Groner Fellow, worked in clinical integration at Baptist Memorial Health Care. Through the Groner Fellowship, Kevin has enjoyed learning the intricacies of hospital operations and how they fit into a large complex health system. A graduate of Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas, he serves as a minister at Millington Church of Christ. Kevin is married to Jules and they have three children: Karson, Eden, and Nyla.

Micah Ehmke

Micah Micah was born and raised in Waterloo, Indiana, along with twelve other siblings. He received his bachelor’s degree in management and human resource management from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis and his master’s degree in business administration from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He will receive a second master’s degree in healthcare administration from the University of Alabama at Birmingham upon completion of his administrative fellowship. Prior to graduate school, Micah spent time in an operational capacity as a manager in the environmental services department at Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital. During graduate school, Micah spent time interning at Wellstar North Fulton Hospital where he worked on a broad range of topics consisting of strategic initiatives, patient throughput, and process improvement. Additionally, Micah worked part-time with the UAB cancer service line in a network capacity on projects with the and UAB Cancer Network. Micah joins the Baptist Memorial Healthcare Corporation team with a passion to serve and help others flourish and to play a part in supporting the health of the communities they serve. Outside of work, Micah enjoys Memphis BBQ, hiking, disc golf, and spending time with friends.

Past Fellows

These CEOs, presidents and executives from some of the top health care systems and organizations in the world launched their careers as Groner fellows. You could be next.

1 Freeman May  
2 Bruce Sledge  
3 Lester Johnson  
4 John M. Hendricks  
5 Joseph (Joe) H. Powell  
6 Ben R. Brewer  
7 Robert E. Fore  
8 James (Jim) C. Ware  
9 Alva (Al) D. Hethcock  
10 Thomas (Tom) E. Coull  
11 C.E. Melville  
12 Gareth (Gary) H. Mitchell  
13 Boone Powell, Jr.  
14 Leland J. Harper  
15 Charles W. Grierson  
16 Jack R. Martin  
17 C. Thomas (Tom) Smith  
18 Maurice W. Elliott  
19 D.L. (Les) Haymons, Jr.  
20 Glenn L. Anderson  
21 Edward (Ed) C. Peddie  
22 Iraj Khadem  
23 Charles R. Baker  
24 William (Bill) R. Walter  
25 W. Douglas (Doug) Davidson  
26 Carl R. Okelberry  
27 Edward (Ed) Zulkowski  
28 James (Jim) A. Lamb  
29 John H. King  
30 Harry A. Nurkin, Ph.D.  
31 David H. Coombes  
32 Jerry L. Lee  
33 Gene E. Schmidt  
34 Larry O. Barton  
35 Stephen (Steve) C. Reynolds linkedin.com/in/steve-reynolds-311116121
36 Jim E. Bushmaier  
37 Roger N. Struble  
38 Alvin (Al) B. King linkedin.com/in/al-b-king-13876027
40 James (Jim) E. Ramer  
41 Robert (Bob) S. Gordon  
42 David (Dave) A. Chumley linkedin.com/in/davidchumley
43 Bill Moore Smith, M.D.  
44 William (Bill) M. Patterson  
45 Mark C. Melton  linkedin.com/in/mark-melton-9629334
46 Melville (Chip) Harris  
47 William (Bill) A. Tuttle linkedin.com/in/wtuttle1
48 James (Jim) H. Jones, III linkedin.com/in/james-jones-65562953
49 Ken Beasley linkedin.com/in/kenbeasleyfache
50 Judith (Judy) S. Wooten  
51 Paul A. Caddell  
52 Gordon E. Lintz linkedin.com/in/gordon-lintz-04990515
53 James (Jim) W. Donnell, Jr.  
54 Terry J. Gunn linkedin.com/in/terryjgunn
55 James (Jim) D. Vandersteeg linkedin.com/in/jim-vandersteeg-75026921
56 LaDon L. Jones, Ph.D. linkedin.com/in/ladon-jones-40b5aab3
57 Brandt C. Wright linkedin.com/in/brandt-wright-7aba1912
58 Zachary (Zach) R. Chandler linkedin.com/in/zach-chandler-17599416
59 Angela Mazzola Simmons  
60 Keon Falkner linkedin.com/in/keonfalkner
61 Larkin Kennedy linkedin.com/in/larkinkennedy
62 Brian Eufinger linkedin.com/in/eufinger
63 Kyle E. Armstrong linkedin.com/in/kyle-armstrong-fache-a7765146
64 James A. Grantham, Jr. linkedin.com/in/james-grantham-fache-59465796
65 Shuntay Carter linkedin.com/in/shuntay-carter-mha-lnha-cdp-252a457
66 Samuel S. Lynd linkedin.com/in/samuellynd
67 Brian Welton linkedin.com/in/brian-welton-msha-mba-76288a38
68 Craig Earley linkedin.com/in/craig-earley-51527656
69. Allison Bosse linkedin.com/in/allisonkaybosse
70. Collin Cheek linkedin.com/in/collin-cheek-mha-778b198b
71 Parker Harris linkedin.com/in/parker-harris-mha-0448428a
72 Jared Moses linkedin.com/in/jaredmoses
73 Kevin Redd linkedin.com/in/kevinhredd
74 Micah Ehmke linkedin.com/in/micahehmke
75 Caitlin Schultz linkedin.com/in/caitlin-schultz-192478160